Hearty Post-Run Breakfast

Following a solid 8 mile run this morning, I decided to try out a new breakfast recipe I found on fedandfit.com for egg-stuffed tomatoes.

photo (3)

 

What a good idea!! I sliced off the top of the tomato with a knife, then hollowed out the inside with a spoon. I mixed 2 eggs, diced arugula, fresh chopped basil from the garden, and a dash of salt and pepper in a bowl. Next I poured the mixture into the hollowed out tomato. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Eggs will be on the runnier side.

I served the tomato on a bed of quinoa and enjoyed a big bowl of watermelon on the side. Some black coffee completed the meal, although it was already pretty hot at 9 am this morning. There was a heat flash that followed. Too bad I don’t like iced coffee!

2 thoughts on “Hearty Post-Run Breakfast

Leave a Reply

