Becoming Kroger’s #1 Customer

photo (7)

I have been home for four days… and I’ve made four trips to Kroger. I can’t help it- I seem to feel a magnetic pull towards grocery stores! I’ve been picking up ingredients for all the new recipes I want to try. Since my last post I have tried out three new ones: a summery watermelon salad, some IRRESISTIBLE dark chocolate peanut butter cookies, and strawberry chia jam.

The watermelon salad was super easy, only containing four ingredients. I bought some cubed photo (4) watermelon, added the arils from one pomegranate, some chopped mint leaves, and juice from one small lime.

Next I set about making the cookies! Every now and then I get a sweet craving, but I am always looking for a healthy way to satisfy my sweet tooth without feeling crappy and sugared-out afterwards. Lindsay, a registered dietitian writing for The Lean Green Bean blog provided the perfect recipe- and I plan to make it again! I followed her recipe exactly as follows:

1/3 C mashed avocado (mash very well or cookies may have green lumps!)

2/3 C peanut butter (I used creamy Smuckers all-natural)

1 egg                                        photo (6)

3 Tbsp honey

3/4 C oats

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 C dark chocolate chips (I used the darkest to reap the most health benefits, 88% cacao)

Combine all of the wet ingredients first, then stir in the dry ingredients, add chocolate chips, and bake @350 degrees for 12-14 minutes. Makes about 12 cookies.

What I love about this recipe is that it is made up of foods that I usually eat so I don’t feel like I am adding a lot more sugar or saturated fat to my diet than usual. The cookies do have a good amount of fat in them from the peanut butter, avocado, and dark chocolate, but it is the healthy kind, unlike most recipes that use butter. As a treat, this recipe will satisfy your sweet tooth, without compromising your nutrition goals!

The strawberry chia jam was a very simple recipe that I borrowed from instructables.com. Their recipe used blackberries, but you could substitute blueberries or raspberries too. Here is the recipe:

1 C of fruit     photo (5)

1/2 C chia seeds

1/2 C water

1/3 C honey

3 Tbsp lemon juice

Just mash the fruit, stir in the remaining ingredients, and store in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes!

Next up…  Jicama Fries : )

One thought on “Becoming Kroger’s #1 Customer

  1. Elisa

    Wow these cookies have all my favorite ingredients!! I like how they could be eaten in place of a packaged granola bar, what is your opinion on bars? There are so many to choose from (brands and types). Do any store bought bars fit into plant based nutrition?

    Thanks for all the great tips/recipies!
    Elisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

